“Give the world a reason to dance” – Kid President

DISNEY WORLD

(Photo by: Kelsey Jacobson)

Hello internet world! My name is Emily Cunningham and I am currently a freshman mass communication major at Towson University. As a staff writer for the university’s newspaper, The Towerlight, I have written about some pretty cool events happening on campus. And as a PR manager for Love is Louder, I have seen this student group emerge as an effective and powerful presence within the university.

If I could be anywhere at this very moment, it would be Disney World (as you can probably tell from the picture). I think it would be super nifty if there were Fast Passes in real life. There is still some doubt in my mind that the Harry Potter series is not a non-fiction narrative of the events J.K. Rowling encountered while in London. Any day can be made better with reruns of Whose Line is It Anyway. The Oxford Comma is essential to life as we know it today. I firmly believe that Josh Groban’s voice will one day be the sole cause of world peace. And after reading Stephen King’s novel 11/22/63, I want to travel back to the 1950s, but only for a little while because, well, women’s rights and all.

I think that so many adults can learn lessons from Dr. Seuss books. I love quotes and I love taking pictures, but of moments, not of people. I think that there is so much to change about the world, but don’t know what to do about it. I think too much, am a fan questions, and embrace intellectual conversation.

One of my favorite quotations comes from the author John Green who said, “There’s some people in this world who you can just love and love and love no matter what.”

I especially love it because it describes my friends perfectly.

My dad reminds me of Phil Dunphey from the TV series Modern Family. And the movie The Guilt Trip was actually first proposed as a fictional story based off of how my brother and mom would act together on a cross-country trip. With this in mind, it doesn’t make it hard for me to love them all to the moon and back.

I’m not sure what career I would like to pursue, but I love the news and being a part of uncovering the news. A quotation once caught my eye that described my search so well that I was amazed someone else had written it: “Others of us are lost. We’re forever seeking. We torture ourselves with philosophies and ache to see the world. We question everything, even our own existence. We ask a lifetime of questions and are never satisfied with the answers because we don’t recognize anyone as an authority to give them. We see life and the world as an enormous puzzle that we might never understand, that our questions might go unanswered until the day we die, almost never occurs to us. And when it does, it fills us with dread.”

With all the changes in the world due to technology sometimes all I want to do is pull a Henry David Thoreau, venture to a cabin in the woods, and just write or read.

One thought on ““Give the world a reason to dance” – Kid President

Leave a Reply

